Bihar polls: NDA's seat-sharing deadlock ends; BJP to contest on 160 seats, Manjhi gets 20
oneindia 2015-09-14 12:40

New Delhi, Sep 14: Putting an end to speculations, the NDA on Monday made a formal announcement regarding seat sharing for the Bihar elections.

After constant meetings pertaining to seat sharing with its allies, BJP president Amit Shah announced, "BJP will contest on 160 seats, LJP on 40 seats, RLSP on 23 seats and HAM on 20 seats while a few other HAM candidates will contest on BJP ticket."

Bihar: NDA's seat-sharing deadlock ends

Until last week the BJP had indicated that it would contest 170 seats, but had to make some adjustments as some of the allies wanted a larger share of seats to contest.


"BJP and our three alliance partners discussed seat sharing and decided on it today. No differences among us, we're all sitting here with smiles. Will contest polls under Modiji's leadership," Amit Shah told at the press conference.


The NDA's seat-sharing agreement for the upcoming Bihar polls could not be finalised on Sunday as the Hindustani Awam Morcha (HAM) stuck to its demand for more seats even after the BJP held another round of negotiations with its leader Jitan Ram Manjhi on the issue, sources said.

BJP leaders continued to hold discussions with Manjhi's HAM through the day on Sunday to reach a consensus over some seats. Even on Monday morning, Jitan Manjhi reached Amit Shah's residence and the deal was finally sealed. 

Union minister Ananth Kumar who is also election in-charge for the Bihar polls met the former Bihar chief minister and discussed the issue.

The five-phased Bihar elections will begin from Oct 12 and end on Nov 5. Counting of votes will be done on Nov 8. 

OneIndia News
WHAT'S HOT Replace
Comment loading...
Join DailyTop,join the discussion
Share,Please click here